Animated Storyboards

Vicky from our group recently finished the animated storyboards, below is the work she did:

Here are the animated storyboards that I created on “Storyboard That” whilst the drawn storyboards were created and as Chloe developed the ident in motion. This took me about 4 lessons to create;

media-storyboards.pngmedia-storyboards2.pngScreen Shot 2015-12-01 at 12.48.03.pngScreen Shot 2015-12-02 at 10.41.02.pngScreen Shot 2015-12-03 at 09.44.30.pngScreen Shot 2015-12-03 at 10.00.38.pngScreen Shot 2015-12-03 at 15.25.36.pngScreen Shot 2015-12-03 at 15.45.18.pngScreen Shot 2015-12-03 at 17.58.03.png

This is the draft picture of the drawn storyboards that I used to create these animated storyboards;

12336289_1194671153880650_119437752_n.jpg

What I found most challenging about this software was the pure lack of props that was available, for example, a kettle and so I had to design one myself using the shapes given. Another problem that hindered my work was the fact that one of the storyboards had to be from a birds-eye-view prospective  and so I have to improvise with the only angle that would slightly represent birds-eye-view, which was frontal positioning of the girl and the tea pot I designed is so the camera is looking at it from straight above. I also had to use arrows in a couple of the storyboards so it is clear what direction the camera will be moving in, for example, with the through the wall shot, the arrows show which side of the wall the camera will move to. Also, for the burnt marks on the young girls arms, they were difficult to portray and so I had to again use the shapes provided and colour it into a shade that is most likely to replicate a new burn.

Also, these animated storyboards may differ with the drawn storyboards that Maddy and Megan produced as some shots were not applicable for this system, for example, the shot of the woman holding the cup of tea could not be identical to the drawn ones as she should actually be holding a tea pot but I could not create that using the shapes provided and so used a cup of tea already designed from the prop section of the website.

Also, due to the animations not being still image, the hands of the characters are very cartoony and unrealistic but this is a minor issue as they still give a basic idea of what is to be expected in a camera shot. I also found it difficult to blur certain objects as for the focus pull shot, the picture frame needed to be out of focus and doing that was difficult as there were not many effective settings to doing so, so I had to live with the one called “blur” that replicated an out of focus shot the best.

Overall, I think the animated storyboards went really well and thanks to the Storyboard Start it was doable and effective, even though in some situations I was limited with options. I hope that the animated storyboards will be found useful on the day of filming and are of a similar sequence to the drawn storyboards, as some had to be altered due to feasibility issues.

Leave a comment